Status winter 2015

Our RoRo transport to Walvis Bay was pretty stressful for us. We booked a ship that was to leave Europe in late November. After booking we received an email that the ship would not leave until December. We canceled the booking and tried another agent. The new date was then mid-December. But that too was postponed to the end of December. We had to leave our vehicle in Antwerp before Christmas. Our plans had been completely overhauled! We had to learn that this is absolutely normal in this industry. We also had to learn that there is really no insurance that covers damage on the ship and that neither the agent nor the shipping company, let alone the captain, can be held accountable in the event of a claim. A rather helpless situation and absolutely untenable for our understanding of law. Our flight to Namibia was already booked and so we had to wait in Namibia almost a month until our vehicle arrived! When loading in Antwerp, the driver of our vehicle thundered into the ship’s wall and produced a 2m long hole. We just had to accept that. Our agency paid us a contribution to the repair just out of goodwill. To avoid major damage in the driver’s cabin, we hid packages of cigarettes in all drawers and shelves. All were found.

The local agent in Antwerp, INTERNATIONAL MARITIME SHIPPING NV, was very nice. We had to go to the city to clear the paper work, which is not that easy with Globi. The check-in at the port was associated with many queries but simple. What we did not know is, that we cannot get Globi further ready for the shipping, once we are in the port – actually logical in a dutyfree area, if we only had thought a bit.

The shipment was organized by International Transport & Shipping Ltd. The responsible clerk had a lot of patience with us being so inexperienced.

The agent at Walvis Bay, TRANSWORLD CARGO (PTY) LTD, was extremely disorganized by our standards, and nobody knew exactly what, when, where, but they were supportive and we actually drove Globi out of the harbor the day after unloading.

Costs

Shipping costsCHF 6 100.00
InsuranceCHF 3 000.00
TotalCHF 9 100.00
Volume of Globi :113,61 m³

Shipping Agent

ITS
International Transport & Shipping Ltd.
Christoph Merian-Ring 29
CH-4153 Reinach
T +41 61 577 27 33
mbianco@its-transport.ch
www.its-transport.ch
Massimo Bianco

Agent in Antwerpen

INTERNATIONAL MARITIME SHIPPING NV
DUBOISSTRAAT 39
B – 2060 ANTWERPEN
BOOKING@IMS-SHIPPING.COM
WWW.IMS-SHIPPING.COM
TEL +32 (0)3 236 37 04
FAX +32 (0)3 235 17 47

Agent in Walvis Bay

TRANSWORLD CARGO (PTY) LTD
BEN AMATILA AVENUE
PO BOX 2377
WALVIS BAY , NAMIBIA
TEL: +264 64 205475

Places to stay to get ready for shipment

Campsite

Camping De Molen
Mühle Camping Thonetlaan
Jachthavenweg 6 B
2050 Antwerpen Belgien
Tel: 0032 3219 8179
info@camping-de-molen.be 
http://www.camping-de-molen.be/

Campsite & Chalets

Lagoon Chalets & Caravan Park
8th Road West
Meersig
Walvis Bay
Namibia
S22° 58″51.5  E14° 29″10.4
Telephone: +264 64 217900
Faximilee: +264 64 207469
info@lagoonchaletswb.com 
http://www.lagoonchaletswb.com/

RoRo von Antwerpen nach Walvis Bay

Stand Winter 2015

Unser RoRo Transport nach Walvis Bay war für uns ziemlich stressig. Wir buchten ein Schiff, das Ende November in Europa ablegen sollte. Nach der Buchung erhielten wir eine Mail, dass das Schiff erst im Dezember ablegen würde. Wir kündigten die Buchung und versuchten es bei einem anderen Agenten. Das neue Datum war dann Mitte Dezember. Aber auch das wurde auf Ende Dezember verschoben. Wir mussten unser Fahrzeug vor Weihnachten in Antwerpen abgeben. Unsere Pläne waren völlig über den Haufen geschoben worden! Wir mussten lernen, dass das in dieser Branche absolut normal ist. Wir mussten auch lernen, dass es eigentlich keine Versicherung gibt, die Schäden auf dem Schiff deckt und dass weder der Agent noch die Reederei und schon gar nicht der Kapitän in einem Schadensfall in die Pflicht genommen werden kann. Ein ziemlich hilfloser Zustand und für unser Rechtsverständnis absolut unhaltbar. Unser Flug nach Namibia war schon gebucht und wir warteten dann in Namibia fast einen Monat bis unser Fahrzeug ankam! Beim Verladen in Antwerpen ist der Chauffeur mit unserem Fahrzeug in die Schiffswand gedonnert und hat einen etwa 2m langes Loch produziert. Wir mussten das einfach hinnehmen. Unsere Agentur hat uns aus Kulanz einen Beitrag an die Reparatur entrichtet. Um grösseren Schaden in der Fahrerkabine zu vermeiden, versteckten wir in sämtlichen Schubladen und Ablagen je ein Paket Zigaretten. Es wurden alle gefunden.

Der lokale Agent in Antwerpen, INTERNATIONAL MARITIME SHIPPING NV, war sehr nett. Wir mussten in die Stadt fahren um die Papiere zu erstellen, mit Globi gar nicht so einfach. Die Abfertigung am Hafen war für uns mit vielen Durchfragen verbunden aber einfach. Was wir nicht wussten, dass wir Globi, einmal im Hafen nicht mehr vorbereiten können – eigentlich logisch auf einem Zollfreigebiet.

Die Verschiffung organisierten wir über International Transport & Shipping Ltd. Der zuständige Sachbearbeiter hatte sehr viel Geduld mit uns Unerfahrenen.

Der Agent in Walvis Bay, TRANSWORLD CARGO (PTY) LTD, war für unsere Verhältnisse extrem unorganisiert und niemand wusste genau was, wann, wo, aber wir haben Globi am Tag nach dem Entladen tatsächlich aus dem Hafen gefahren.

Kosten

Verschiffungskosten CHF 6 100.00
Transportversicherung CHF 3 000.00
Total CHF 9 100.00
Volumen von Globi: 113,61 m³

Verschiffungsagent

ITS
International Transport & Shipping Ltd.
Christoph Merian-Ring 29
CH-4153 Reinach
T +41 61 577 27 33
mbianco@its-transport.ch
www.its-transport.ch
Massimo Bianco

Agent in Antwerpen

INTERNATIONAL MARITIME SHIPPING NV
DUBOISSTRAAT 39
B – 2060 ANTWERPEN
BOOKING@IMS-SHIPPING.COM
WWW.IMS-SHIPPING.COM
TEL +32 (0)3 236 37 04
FAX +32 (0)3 235 17 47

Agent in Walvis Bay

TRANSWORLD CARGO (PTY) LTD
BEN AMATILA AVENUE
PO BOX 2377
WALVIS BAY , NAMIBIA
TEL: +264 64 205475

Orte zur Vorbereitung für die Verschiffung

Campsite

Camping De Molen
Mühle Camping Thonetlaan
Jachthavenweg 6 B
2050 Antwerpen Belgien
Tel: 0032 3219 8179
info@camping-de-molen.be 
http://www.camping-de-molen.be/

Campsite & Chalets

Lagoon Chalets & Caravan Park
8th Road West
Meersig
Walvis Bay
Namibia
S22° 58″51.5  E14° 29″10.4
Telephone: +264 64 217900
Faximilee: +264 64 207469
info@lagoonchaletswb.com 
http://www.lagoonchaletswb.com/ 
2018-09-17T10:08:22+00:00 21. Juni, 2018|Afrika, Allgemein, RoRo-Verschiffung|

Hinterlassen Sie einen Kommentar